BEFORE THE HEATING, VENTILATION, AIR CONDITIONING AND REFRIGERATION
LICENSING BOARD
DIVISION OF LABOR
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND LICENSING
STATE OF ARKANSAS

IN RE: RUSTY RUCKER, individually

2742 County Road 304

Jonesboro, AR 72401

ORDER
On the 14" day of October 2020, this matter came before the Heating, Ventilation, Air

Conditioning and Refrigeration (HVACR) Licensing Board of the State of Arkansas. Marcus C.
Devine, Associate Counsel, Department of Labor and Licensing, represented the agency. Rusty
Rucker, although properly served and noticed, did not appear personally on his own behalf. Based

on the testimony and other evidence, the Board makes the following Findings of Fact and

Conclusions of Law.
FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. On September 28, 2020, the Arkansas Department of Labor issued a civil money
penalty to Mr. Rusty Rucker in the total amount of $2750.00. This sum represented a $250
penalty for performing HVACR work without a license. Additionally, this sum includes a civil
penalty of $250 each for 10 separate violations of the State HVACR Code as adopted by the
Board.

9.2 Rusty Rucker timely requested a hearing before the Board which was held on
Wednesday, October 14, 2020 at 10 a.m.

3. Rusty Rucker is not licensed by the HVACR Licensing Board.



4, Rusty Rucker is doing business and holding himself out to be a duly licensed
HVACR contractor. Mr. Rucker entered into a contract with Charles and Cindy Rone to make
alterations to their Evening Shade, Arkansas home. The contract price was $4,000.00 and part of
the agreement included Rusty Rucker securing and installing or having installed HVACR
equipment.

5. Rusty Rucker performed the HVACR work on the Rone residence.

6. There were 11 violations of the State HVACR Code as adopted by the board.
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

1. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-301 (a) and (b) prohibits any person from performing
heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration work in Arkansas without a license.

2. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-202 et. seq. authorizes the Department of Labor and
Licensing to assess a civil money penalty subject to appeal to the board for licensing violations;
violations the HVACR Code Authority Act, Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-204 ef seq.; and violations
of rules promulgated by the board.

3 The civil money penalty in this case equals or is less than the $250 per violation for
a first offense established by statute. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-204. The penalties also are within

the guidelines established by rule of the board.

4, The board, in its discretion, may increase or decrease a penalty taking into
consideration:

a. The degree and extent of harm to the public safety or to property, or the

potential for harm;

b. The duration and gravity of the violation;

C. Whether the violation was committed willfully or intentionally, or reflects

a continuing pattern;

d. Whether the violation involved elements of fraud or deception either to the

public or the Board, or both;

e The violator’s prior disciplinary record with the Board;



f. Whether and to the extent which the violator profited by the violation.

5. In the present case the board has not increased the civil money penalty
assessed against Rusty Rucker. However, it is important to note:

a. Mr. Rucker’s lack of testimony or defense left the Board with no basis to
deny the Staff’s recommended findings and proposed penalty. This was willful and intentional.

b. Mr. Rucker did directly profit from his violations because he was the
contracting party. He was not a mere employee following the instructions of an employer.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that the civil money penalty assessed by the Director
of the Department of Labor and Licensing against Rusty Rucker in the amount of $2750.00 is
affirmed.
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