BEFORE THE HEATING, VENTILATION, AIR CONDITIONING AND REFRIGERATION
LICENSING BOARD

DIVISION OF LABOR
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND LICENSING
STATE OF ARKANSAS

IN RE: CHRISTOPHER JOHNSON, individually and
Henry’s A/C Heating & Appliance
602 Homer Street
Magnolia, AR 71753

ORDER

On this 8" day of June 2022, this matter came before the Heating, Ventilation, Air
Conditioning and Refrigeration (HVACR) Licensing Board of the State of Arkansas. Miles
Morgan, Associate Counsel, Department of Labor and Licensing, represented the agency.
Christopher Johnson was properly notified and did not appear before the board in person or via
zoom for the hearing. Based on the testimony and other evidence, the Board makes the

following Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

FINDINGS OF FACT:

1. On April 28, 2022, the Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing issued a civil
money penalty to Mr. Christopher Johnson (“Johnson”) in the total amount of $1,000.00.
This sum includes a civil penalty of $250.00 each for four (4) separate violations of the

State HVAC/R code as adopted by the Board.



2. Johnson was timely notified of his hearing before the Board on May 5, 2022. The hearing
would be held on Wednesday June 8,2022, at 10 a.m.

3. Johnson is doing business as “Henry’s A/C Heating & Appliance.”

4. The inspection by the Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing (“ADLL”) was the
result of a complaint filed by homeowner, Janet Bradford of Magnolia, Arkansas.

5. Inspector Doug Pearson determined four (4) violations of the State HVACR Code as
adopted by the Board.

6. Included in the inspection report; photos taken by Pearson over the span of a few months
showing multiple violations.

7. Images presented showed a lack of proper installation as well as health and safety
violations.

8. Johnson did not appear in-person or via zoom as he was offered.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW:

1. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-202 et seq. authorizes the Department of Labor and Licensing to
assess a civil money penalty subject to appeal to the Board for licensing violations;
violations of the HVACR Code Authority Act, Ark. Code Ann, § 17-33-204 et seq,; and
violations of rules promulgated by the Board.

2. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-307(2) authorizes the Board to suspend or revoke any license or
registration if it finds that the holder of the license or registrant has demonstrated
incompetency to act as a license holder or registrant according to rules and standards

promulgated by the board.



The civil money penalty in this case equals or is less than the $250.00 per violation for a
first offense established by statute. Ark. Code Ann. § 17-33-204. The penalties are also
within the guidelines established by the rule of the Board.

. The Board, in its discretion, may increase or decrease a penalty taking into consideration:

a. The degree and extent of harm to the public safety or to property, or the potential

harm;

b. The duration and gravity of the violation;

. Whether the violation was committed willfully or intentionally, or reflects a
continuing pattern;

d. Whether the violation involved elements of fraud or deception either to the public
or the Board, or both;

€. The violator’s prior disciplinary record with the Board;

f. Whether and to the extent which the violator profited by the violation.

- In the present case, the Board has increased the civil money penalty assessed against Mr.

Johnson, from $1000.00 to $5000.00. This penalty is far below the maximum the Board

could have allowed in matters such as this.

- Inspector Pearson met with Mr. Johnson on three (3) separate occasions and explained

the violations. The repairs were never made by Johnson to comply with the HVAC/R

code.
- Johnson did receive $3400.00 for his work from the jobsite.

The Board voted to impose a civil money penalty of $5,000.00.



ITIS THEREFORE ORDERED that the civil money penalty assessed by the Director

of the Department of Labor and Licens; ng against C

$5,000.00 is affirmed.
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