# <u>Subcontractor Registration</u> <u>Commercial</u>



## State of Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board

\$100.00 Filing Fee – Check or Money order only NON-REFUNDABLE / NON-TRANSFERABLE

MAIL TO: CONTRACTORS LICENSING BOARD 4100 RICHARDS ROAD NORTH LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS 72117 Main Phone Number (501) 372-4661 FAX Number (501) 372-2247 Web Site: www.arkansas.gov/clb

Effective Date 6/2022 (Subcontractor Registration) 1.

# Commercial Subcontractor Registration

### **IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT SUBCONTRACTOR REGISTRATION:**

- 1. A Registered Contractor is **NOT a licensed contractor**. It is a violation of the law for a Registered Contractor to perform a project for which a license is required.
- 2. A Registered Contractor may work as a SUBCONTRACTOR to a properly LICENSED contractor.
- 3. A Registered Contractor may not perform work as a Prime Contractor on a project for which a license is required.
- 4. A Registered Contractor will have to renew their registration yearly.

# Subcontractor Registration Instructions / Checklist

- A <u>completed</u> application must be received, with the appropriate fee (all fees are non-refundable) before it can be considered.
- Once the application is received in our office, it must be completed within 90 days.
- After 90 days, another application and filing fee will be required.
- 1. \$100.00 filing fee made payable to the Contractors Licensing Board. (**Fees are NON-REFUNDABLE / NON-TRANSFERABLE**)
- 2. Complete Application-Pages 4, 7, 8, and 9 (if applicable).
- 3. Complete pages 5 and 6 by circling the classification(s) for which the contractor is registering. \*\*Note that by completing the Affidavit (page 8) the applicant is certifying that they have the proper education, experience, training, skills and financial ability to perform the type of work for which it is registering.

If the contractor is registering for a classification which requires an Arkansas trade license, registration, or certificate, a copy of that trade license, registration, or certification must be submitted.

- 4. Fully executed \$10,000.00 Contractor's Bond that <u>must be in Principal Name & EIN, as</u> <u>registered with the IRS</u>. Please refer to pages 10 & 11 for more information about the bond.
- 5. **If the applicant has one or more employees:** You must have Worker's Compensation insurance coverage.
- 6. Remit documentation from your entity's Secretary of State's office showing that the Corporation, LLC, Partnership, LP, or LLP is in good standing with said Secretary of State.

Filing Fee: \$ \_\_\_\_\_

ID#:

# Subcontractor Registration Application

PRINT NAME OF COMPANY OR NAME (IF APPLYING AS A SOLE PROPERIORSHIP) AS YOU WISH FOR IT TO APPEAR ON THE REGISTRATION. IF APPLYING AS A CORPORATION, LLC, OR LLP, IT MUST READ EXACTLY AS REGISTERED WITH THE SECRETARY OF STATE OFFICE. <u>APPLICANTS</u> <u>MUST CONDUCT / CONTRACT BUSINESS UNDER THE EXACT NAME SHOWN UPON THE</u> <u>REGISTRATION.</u>

### **ANSWER ALL OF THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS:**

Indicate the type of entity seeking a registration by circling one of the choices below:

SOLE PROPRIETORSHIP CORPORATION LLC PARTNERSHIP LP LLP

Corporation Name, LLC Name, Partnership Name, LP Name, LLP Name as listed with Secretary of State's office / Sole Proprietorship:

Fictitious Name / D/B/A Name:				
Federal ID# / EIN				
Mailing Address	City			
State Zip Code	_ County/Parish			
Company Phone	Fax			
Company E-mail				
Information on person to contact with any questions regarding this application:				
Name:				
Phone#:				
Email Address:				

### **CLASSIFICATIONS**

#### Please circle the specialty classification(s) being requested.

By circling a classification, the applicant certifies that it has the proper education, experience, training, skills and financial ability to perform the type of work for which it is registering.

Classification(s) marked with \*\* require an Arkansas Trade License or Certification.

Above Ground Tanks Grain Bins Greenhouses \*\* Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning, Refrigeration Awnings, Canopies & Gutters Base & Paving HRA Miscellaneous & Specialty Items a. Base Construction a. Traffic Safety b. Hot & Cold Mixes 1. Pavement Markers 2. Signaling c. Surface Treatment d. Asphalt 3. Guardrails & Fencing e. Concrete Paving 4. Attenuators, Signalization & Roadway Lighting Blinds, Curtains, Draperies, Theatrical b. Landscaping Boat Docks 1. Seeding 2. Soddina **Boiler Construction & Repair Bulk Storage Facilities** 3. Planting Cable Television Lines (Above & Below Ground) 4. Chemical weed & brush control Car Washes c. Pavement Rehabilitation Carpentry, Framing, Millwork, Cabinets 1. Pressure grouting Ceilings, Wall Systems, Acoustical Treatments 2. Grinding & grooving Chemical Resistant Tile & Brick 3. Concrete joints Chimneys, Fireplaces 4. Underdrains Cofferdams, Dikes, Levees, Canals d. Miscellaneous Concrete Communication, Computer or Sound Systems, Cabling 1. Sidewalks 2. Driveways **Control Systems & Instrumentation** 3. Curb & gutter Conveyors, Material Handling Systems, Cranes, Hoists 4. Box culverts **Cooling Towers** Hydraulics Incinerator & Stack Construction Demolition, Blasting Indoor/Outdoor Advertising Institutional & Kitchen Equipment Insulation **Electrical Transmission Lines** Interior Work \*\* Elevators, Escalators, Dumbwaiters, Chairlifts Kilns, Drying Systems **Energy & Chemical Pipelines** Landfills Energy Management, Retrofit Systems Landscaping, Irrigation, Lawn Sprinkler Systems, Streams \*\* Landscaping with Planting Environmental General Lathe, Plaster, Stucco, Dryvit, EIFS **Erosion Control** \*\* Lead Abatement \*\* Factory Trained Medical Equipment Technician ("exemption" from Electrical Board required) Lift Stations, Pumps Fencing, Gates Lightning Protection Fiberglass Liners Fireproofing Marine Docks Floors, Floor Covering Masonry Foundation Construction or Drilling, Pile Driving, Stabilization Mausoleums Furnaces, Fuel Burning or Heat Transfer Equipment, Medical Shielded Enclosures Stokers, Refractories Metal Buildings, Detached Structures, Storage Buildings Furniture, Recreational and/or Playground Equipment, Metal Studs, Walls Bleachers, Seating, Partitions Meter Installation & Service \*\* Gas Fitter Microwave Systems, Towers, Satellite Dishes Generators, Turbines Millwright Oil & Gas Field Construction, Rigging Glass, Glazing, Doors, Windows, Hardware, Storefront Golf Cart & Foot Bridges & Paths Overhead Doors & Dock Equipment Golf Courses Paint Booths Grading & Drainage (Includes Pipe & Structures, Culverts, Painting, Wallcovering Clearing, Grubbing & Rip Rap, Excavation) Passenger Boarding Bridges

Asbestos

Concrete

Dredging

Drywall \*\* Electrical

\*\*

#### CLASSIFICATIONS (Continued from page 5) - \*\*Requires a Arkansas Trade License or Certification

Piping, Process Piping, Valve Repair \*\* Sheet Metal, Ducts, Ventilation **Plant Maintenance** Siding, Soffit, Facia, Gutters Plating & Waste Treatment Systems Signal or Burglar Alarms, Fire Detection \*\* Plumbing & Monitoring Systems Pneumatic Tube Systems Skylights Pollution, Air & Dust Control, Blower & Exhaust Systems Solar Systems Poultry & Swine Electrical Special Coatings or Applications, Caulking, Waterproofing Poultry & Swine Houses Sport & Recreational Surfaces Sprinklers, Fire Protection Poultry (HVACR) Steel, Alloy, Ornamental, Metal Fabrication, Welding Precipitators Railroad Construction & Related Items Storm Shelters Rebar Substations Refrigeration, Cold Storage Swimming Pools, Spas **Temperature Controls (Electric)** Remediation Remodeling, Renovations, Restoration, Alterations **Temperature Controls (Pneumatic) Retaining Walls** Testing & Balancing **Right of Way Clearing** Tile, Terrazzo, Marble, Countertops Roofs, Roof Decks, Roofing Sheet Metal Tuckpointing Tunnels, Shafts Sandblasting, Hydroblasting, Dry Ice Blasting Scaffolding Underground Piping, Cable, Trenching, Boring Scales \*\* Underground Storage Tanks Septic Tank Installation & Repair Water and Sewer Lines Water Lines Associated with Fire Protection Security, Banking, Detention Equipment (Bars & safety no certificate needed) \*\* Water Wells Service Station Equipment Wind Turbines

#### If any of the following specialty(s) are being requested, then attach a copy of the Arkansas trade license/certificate. 1. Asbestos (call 501-682-0718) 2. Boiler Construction & Repair (call 501-682-4513) 3. Electrical (call 501-682-4549) 4. Elevators, Escalators, Dumbwaiters, Chairlifts (call 501-682-4530) 5. Gas Fitter (call 501-661-2642) 6. HVACR (call 501-682-9201) 7. Landscaping w/Planting (call 501-225-1598) 8. Lead Abatement (call 501-671-1472) 9. Plumbing (call 501-661-2642) 10. Refrigeration, Cold Storage (call 501-682-9201) 11. Septic Tank Installation & Repair (call 501-661-2171) 12. Sheet Metal, Ducts, Ventilation (call 501-682-9201) 13. Signal or Burglar Alarms, Fire Detection & Monitoring Systems (call 501-618-8600) 14. Sprinkler, Fire Protection (call 501-661-7903) 15. Underground Storage Tanks (call 501-682-0993) 16. Water Wells (call 501-682-3900) Complete the following section for each person that holds an Arkansas trade license/certificate (if more than one attach information separately). Social Security # Name Sole Owner Position held with this company, check one: Full time paid employee Officer, member, or partner of the company and is actively involved in the day to day operations

Effective Date 6/2022 (Subcontractor Registration) 6.

### **Company Data**

\*\*\*If you are applying as an individual/sole proprietor, you may qualify for an initial fee waiver under the "<u>Workforce Expansion Act of 2021</u>". To see if you qualify visit our website at <u>www.arkansas.gov/clb</u>. Click on the Workforce Expansion Act of 2021 link to see the list of waiver requirements and waiver form. If you do qualify please complete the form and return it with your completed application packet.

### This page MUST be completed in FULL

### **OFFICERS**

List ANY/ALL officers with Full names and complete social security numbers of ALL individuals:

President	SSN
Vice-President	SSN
Secretary	SSN
Treasurer	SSN

### **OWNERS**

List <u>ANY/ALL individuals</u> who own 10% or more of the company that is applying for a registration. List Full names and complete social security numbers of ALL Individuals:

Name	SSN
Name	SSN

### **APPLICANT INFORMATION**

# <u>Note</u>: For the purpose of the following questions 1-4, <u>You/Your means</u>, this organization, any officer, the qualifier of this company, you, or anyone who owns 10% or more of the entity.

Yes\_\_\_\_ No\_\_\_\_ 1. Does this applicant have one or more employees?

Yes\_\_\_\_ No\_\_\_\_ 2. Does the applicant have Workers Compensation Insurance?

## Answering yes to any of the following questions will <u>not</u> automatically disqualify you for a subcontractor registration.

- Yes\_\_\_\_ No\_\_\_\_ 3. Have you ever pleaded guilty, no contest, nolo contendere, been convicted, found guilty, or been sentenced for any felony or misdemeanor, other than traffic violations? (See definition of you above) **If yes, complete the "Criminal Background Information" form** (page 9) for each offense.
- Yes\_\_\_\_ No\_\_\_\_ 4. Are you required to register on the sex offender registry in this state or any other state? (See definition of you above) **If yes, please attach separately a written explanation as to** what occurred and when this occurred.

### <u>AFFIDAVIT</u>

### (Corporation, LLC, Partnership, LP, LLP, Sole Proprietorship)

I,		_, being duly sworn/affirmed, state und	der oath:
(Name of Owner/Officer/Member/Partner/Sole Pr	oprietor)		
That I am	of		;
(Position held)		(Company Name, if Applicable)	

- All statements contained within this registration application, including attachments are true and correct.
- Any agency of the State of Arkansas is authorized to release to the Contractors Licensing Board, or its representative, any information necessary to show proper compliance with A.C.A § 17-25- 101 et seq., or A.C.A. § 17-25-501 et seq., including the obtaining and reviewing of a criminal background check.
- Understand that a Registered Contractor is NOT a LICENSED CONTRACTOR.

(Signature of Owner/Officer/Member/Partner/Sole Proprietor)

### **Criminal Background Information**

State of Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board

### IN CASES OF MULTIPLE OFFENSES, MAKE A COPY OF THIS FORM TO SHOW INFORMATION FOR EACH OFFENSE...

1.	Offender's legal name:
2.	Offender's SSN:
3.	The crime in question:
4.	The date of the conviction:
5.	The jurisdiction (State, County, and City):
6.	The sentence:
7.	If you were incarcerated, the date of your release:
8.	If you were placed on probation or parole, the date of release from probation or parole:
9.	Has the offense been sealed by the Court, pardoned, or expunged? If yes, which one?
10.	Written explanation as to what occurred:

Effective Date 6/2022 (Subcontractor Registration) 9.

### Instructions for Arkansas' \$10,000 SURETY Bond

# \*\* All **Unrestricted or Restricted Commercial** Contractors are required to have this bond filed with the Board to have a valid license. \*\*

#### **AGENTS:** (Bond must have Contractors - Company Name and its EIN)

**Only this prescribed form will be accepted**. (Any alterations must have prior approval from the Contractors Licensing Board)

Only an Arkansas Resident or an Arkansas Non-Resident agency, agent, broker or producer that is currently licensed by the Arkansas Insurance Department can execute this surety bond.

#### IF issued by Direct Underwriter:

The bond may be executed solely by the Surety company. <u>An underwriter (employee) that **works**</u> <u>directly for the Surety need only sign the bottom left line and indicate that you're a</u> <u>direct underwriter</u>.

Continuation Certificates are not required, as our bonds are continuous until cancelled.

#### **CONTRACTORS:**

**Principal Company Name** and **EIN** must appear on the bond, **exactly** as registered with the **IRS**. This name is how all work and bids are to be performed in Arkansas. (Any other name could constitute a possible violation)

See that the bond is filed with the Board as directed at the bottom of the bond form, for processing. A license is not valid without this bond in place with the Board.

<u>Any change in the Federal ID# requires a new bond be executed</u>. Any change in company name will require other documentation, **\*\*please call for instructions first**.

For questions regarding this bond, contact our office at 501-372-4661 or via email at <u>contractors.licensing.board@arkansas.gov</u>

#### Effective Date 6/2022 (Subcontractor Registration) 10.



**\$10,000 Surety Bond** (Required by A.C.A. § 17-25-401)

Only an Arkansas Resident or an Arkansas Non-Resident insurance agency, agent, broker, producer, or surety (as a direct underwriter) that is currently licensed by the Arkansas Insurance Department can execute this surety bond.

#### **Effective Date**

Bond	Number
------	--------

#### STATE OF ARKANSAS

WHEREAS, under the terms of A.C.A. § 17-25-401, et. seq., every contractor described therein must file with the Contractors Licensing Board a corporate surety bond or cash bond to secure compliance with A.C.A § 17-25-401, et. seq.

WHEREAS, every such contractor is required to comply with all the terms of said Code, and all rules and regulations promulgated by the Contractors Licensing Board pursuant to the authority of said Code, in the performance of contracts in the State of Arkansas:

NOW, therefore, we, the undersigned, as Principal and Surety (below), are held firmly bound to the State of Arkansas in the <u>Sum of Ten Thousand Dollars (\$10,000</u>) for payment of which we bind ourselves, our heirs, assigns, executors and administrators, jointly and severally, conditioned that if the undersigned principal shall promptly pay any amount of money due as provided in A.C.A. § 17-25-401, et. seq., then this obligation shall be null and void; otherwise, it shall be in full force and effect.

The Surety reserves, however, the right to cancel the above bond on the giving of sixty (60) days written notice to the Principal and to the State of Arkansas (Contractors Licensing Board).

#### Principal's Company Name and EIN (as filed with the IRS) Business Address & Phone#

Surety's Name,

Address, and Phone#

Agents: \*\* Arkansas Insurance License must be attached \*\*

Insurance Company Name or Agent (Exactly as it appears on the AR Insurance License)

Mailing Address & Phone#

\*\*Signature of Agent/Broker/Producer\*\* Printed Name

Power of Attorney Signature (if different than above) or IF Direct Underwriter - Surety Employee Signature Contractor: Mail, email: contractors.licensing.board@arkansas.gov or fax (501-372-2247) bond to the Board for processing: Contractors Licensing Board or ACLB, 4100 Richards Road, North Little Rock, AR, 72117

Effective Date 6/2022 (Subcontractor Registration) 11.

### **CHECKLIST OF HELPFUL NUMBERS**

#### FOR CONTRACTORS PLANNING TO OPERATE IN THE STATE OF ARKANSAS

THE FOLLOWING IS A LIST OF REGULATORY AGENCIES TO WHICH YOU COULD BE RESPONSIBLE WHILE DOING BUSINESS IN THE STATE OF ARKANSAS.

CONTRACTORS LICENSE ONLINE DIRECTORY CORPORATE FRANCHISE TAX INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX CORPORATE INCOME TAX SALES & USE TAXES	(501) 372-4661 (501) 682-3000 Secretary of State (501) 682-1100 (501) 682-4775 (501) 682-7104	<u>www.arkansas.gov/clb</u> <u>www.arkansas.gov/directory</u> (501) 682-3409	
UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION	(501) 682-2121 or (8	55) 225-4440	
WORKERS COMPENSATION	(501) 682-3930 or (800) 250-2511		
LABOR STANDARDS	(501) 682-4505		
**ASBESTOS	(501) 682-0744	<u>www.adeq.state.ar.us</u>	
**BOILER CONSTRUCTION & REPAIR	(501) 682-4553	<u>www.labor.arkansas.gov</u>	
**ELECTRICAL	(501) 682-4548	<u>www.labor.arkansas.gov</u>	
**ELEVATORS, ESCALATORS,	(501) 682-4538	<u>www.labor.arkansas.gov</u>	
DUMBWAITERS, CHAIRLIFTS			
**GAS FITTER	(501) 661-2642	www.healthy.arkansas.gov	
**HVACR	(501) 683-5475	<u>www.labor.arkansas.gov</u>	
**LANDSCAPING w/PLANTING	(501) 225-1598	www.aad.arkansas.gov	
**LEAD ABATEMENT	(501) 671-1472	www.healthy.arkansas.gov	
**PLUMBING	(501) 661-2642	www.healthy.arkansas.gov	
**REFRIGERATION, COLD STORAGE	(501) 682-9201	<u>www.labor.arkansas.gov</u>	
**SEPTIC TANK INSTALLATION & REPAIR	(870) 648-5446		
**SHEET METAL, DUCTS, VENTILATION	(501) 682-9201	<u>www.labor.arkansas.gov</u>	
**SIGNAL or BURGLAR ALARMS,	(501) 618-8600	<u>www.asp.arkansas.gov</u>	
FIRE DETECTION & MONITORING SYSTEMS			
**SPRINKLERS, FIRE PROTECTION	(501) 661-7903	www.arfireprotection.org	
**UNDERGROUND STORAGE TANKS	(501) 682-0993	www.adeq.state.ar.us	
**WATER WELLS	(501) 682-3900	www.awwcc.arkansas.gov	

<u>PLEASE NOTE:</u> This list may not include all the State Regulatory Offices, which you might need to contact. You should contact your accountant or attorney as to any other agencies which you may need to contact due to the special nature of your business.

\*\*Requires proof of appropriate certification/licensure before the Contractors Licensing Board will approve the classification(s). Performing any of the following type projects without the appropriate certificate/license from the agency in question may be in violation of that agency's law. Performing any of these type projects without the specific classification from the Contractors Licensing Board may be in violation of the Contractors Licensing Board may be in violation of the Contractors Licensing Board may be in violation of the Contractors Licensing Board may be in violation of the Contractors Licensing law.

Effective Date 6/2022 (Subcontractor Registration) 12.