Case No. DP11102022D

BEFORE THE ARKANSAS HVAC/R LICENSING BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF CHRISTOPHER ORLANDO JOHNSON, RESPONDENT
LICENSE NO. 0002849 EXP 7/31/2024

CASE NO. DP11102022D

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSION OF LAW AND ORDER

A hearing on the above-referenced matter was held before the Arkansas HVAC/R Board
(“Board”) at 10:00 a.m. on July 10, 2024, located at 900 West Capitol Ave., Suite 400, Little
Rock, AR 72201. Christopher Orlando Johnson (“Respondent™) did not appear personally nor
was represented by counsel. Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing Counsel Lacie
Kirchner appeared on behalf of the Board.

Finding proper notice had been given Respondent, the Board, from all the evidence

presented, makes the following Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and Order.

FINDINGS OF FACT
1. OnJune 14, 2023, Christopher Orlando Johnson (“Respondent™), appeared before

the Arkansas HVAC/R Licensing Board (“Board™) at a hearing for violations of
Arkansas law and Board rules and codes.
2. The Board ordered the following at the conclusion of the June 14, 2023:
a. Respondent’s license was to be transferred from a Class B HVAC
Mechanic to a Class C HVAC Mechanic license; and
b. Respondent was ordered to pay a five-thousand dollar ($5,000.00) civil
monetary penalty for the seventy-nine (79) noted violations of Arkansas
law and applicable codes.
3. On August 24, 2023, Respondent entered into a Settlement Agreement with the
Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing (“ADLL”) to set a payment

schedule for the assessed civil monetary penalty.
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In the August 24, 2023, Settlement Agreement, Respondent agreed to make an
initial down payment of two hundred and eighty dollars ($280.00) on or before
August 14, 2023, and to make all future payments of two hundred and eighty
dollars ($280.00) on or before the 15" of each month beginning September 2023
and ending December 2024.

On or about August 29, 2023, Respondent made his initial down payment of two
hundred and eighty dollars ($280.00) in the form of two (2) money orders.
Respondent failed to remit payment on or before September 15, 2023.

On or about October 5, 2023, Respondent made a two hundred and eighty dollars
($280.00) payment in the form of a money order.

Between October 6, 2023, and December 6, 2023. ADLL staff made several
attempts to reach the Respondent by phone and sent emails on November 18,
2023, and December 6, 2023. ADLL staff received no response to the emails or
voicemails.

On or about December 12, 2023, Respondent’s case was referred to ADLL Legal
for further action.

On or about March 15, 2024, Judge Timothy Davis Fox signed a Judgement by
Default, pursuant to A.C.A. § 16-22-308, ordering that the Respondent is indebted
to the Board in the sum of five-thousand dollars ($5,000.00) plus costs, interest,
and attorney’s fees of five-hundred dollars ($500.00).

Pursuant to the August 24, 2023, Settlement Agreement, Respondent’s previous
payments will be retained by the Board as liquidated damages and Respondent
will be responsible for the entirety of the Judgement of Default entered against
him on March 15, 2024.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Respondent’s actions, as set forth above in Findings of Fact 5-8, constitute

violations of Ark. Code Ann. §17-33-307 in that, the Respondent failed to comply
with the Board Order from the June 14, 2023 hearing and the August 24, 2023,
Settlement Agreement.

ORDER
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I. Respondent’s Class B HVAC Mechanic license is hereby revoked.

Pursuant to the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act, Ark. Code Ann. §25-15-212,
Respondent may petition for judicial review of this decision by filing a petition in the
Circuit Court in the County in which he resides or does business or in the Circuit Court of

Pulaski County within thirty (30) days after service of this Order.

HEATING, VENTILLATION, AIR CONDITIONING and
REFRIGERATION LICENSING BOARD, DEPARTMENT
OF LABOR AND LICENSING.

STATE OF ARKANSAS

By: g— el

Alan Dean, Chairman

Date: 9 /5’ 3034

Approved as to form:

/s/ Lacie Kirchner

Lacie Kirchner, 201404

Attomey

Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing




