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Attention all HVAC/R license Holders 

To:   All HVAC/R Contractors and Interested Parties 

From:  Alan Dean, Chairman HVAC/R Board 
  Lindsay Moore, Director of Code Enforcement   
 
Date:  August 1, 2025 
 
Subject:  Changes related to Act 746 of 2025 and related rule changes for license holders 
 
During the recent legislative session, changes were enacted to the HVAC/R program with the 
passage of Act 746 of 2025. Additionally, an internal audit review has required the Board to make 
additional rule changes to the program. 
 
Act 746 of 2025: 
 
A.C.A § 17-28-101(1), A.C.A 17-28-203 (a) (Board of Electrical Examiners) has repealed the HVAC/R 
Electrician License. This license will no longer be necessary to install or connect electrical 
connections to HVAC/R Equipment. 
 
A.C.A § 17-28-102(c1) Any holder of a state-issued heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and 
refrigeration, or HVACR, license may run line voltage power wiring in compliance with the state 
electric code from a disconnect box to an outdoor HVACR unit within a distance not to exceed 
seventy-five  (75') feet from any point of the HVACR equipment without obtaining an electrician's 
license as required by this chapter. All installations shall be required to meet all adopted electrical 
codes and be subject to any local permitting and inspection requirements by the state or local 
jurisdiction. 
 
A.C.A § 17-33-101(8) Concerning definitions pertaining to HVACR workers, is amended to read as 
follows:  “HVACR gas fitting work" means gas fitting work for the purpose of supplying an HVACR 
system and shall be limited to installing seventy-five feet (75’) or less final of gas piping connection 
to a heating unit from an existing, accessible manual safety shutoff gas cock, installing flue gas vents 
and combustion air for the HVACR system. All installations shall be required to meet all adopted 
Plumbing and Arkansas Fuel Gas Codes and be subject to any local permitting and inspection 
requirements by the state or local jurisdiction. 
 
Arkansas Code § 17-33-303 Repeals the Class C license for HVAC/R. All current active HVAC/R Class C 
licenses will be grandfathered to a class B license. The Class B license is now allowed to perform 
work of HVAC/R equipment up to 25 tons. Additionally, the act clarifies that HVAC/R registrants are 
the responsibility of the responsible class holder for their registration cards and work. 
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Act 746 of 2025 amends the law concerning Continuing Education Hours from the current 4 hours 
required annually to 8 hours per published International Code Council (ICC) International 
Mechanical Code (IMC) code cycle.  
 
Act 746 amends the late fee and testing requirements for expired licenses. The new requirement 
requires any class holder’s expired license to be assessed a $10.00 monthly late fee plus any 
additional past due license fees for 36 months. After 36 months, the applicant shall be required to 
pay all past due fees, penalties and judgements and must retake the exam for their license class to 
be reinstated.  
 
The Act empowers the Board to asses’ penalties to a maximum of $1000.00 per violation of the IMC 
or the HVAC/R statutes and rules. All penalties may be assessed on a per day, per violation basis. 
 
The HVAC/R Board has completed an internal audit review of all statutory and business processes. 
Based on that review the Board will now be required to end their deferment of license program. All 
licenses currently in deferment will be activated to expire at their normal expiration date.  
 
The HVAC/R Board will clarify rules that if a class holder is employed by a contractor, business that 
performs work on their equipment, school or supply company, they will not be responsible to 
provide individual liability insurance coverage. They will be required to provide a letter from their 
employer stating they are insured and employed with that business. 
 
While final rules are being refined and approved, the statutes and this document will be used for 
enforcement guidance. 
 
Please submit any questions regarding the HVAC/R program to adll.hvac@arkansas.gov  
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