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Applicant Instructions for the Uniform CPA Examination

[bookmark: INITIAL_APPLICANTS]INITIAL APPLICANTS
An initial application is to be completed by applicants who:
· Have never taken the examination as candidates of this state.
· Have previously applied or have taken the examination as a candidate in another jurisdiction.
· Applicants who have previously applied or taken the examination for other jurisdictions must complete an initial application form. An “Authorization for Interstate Exchange of Examination and Licensure Information” form will be necessary. Applicants who have earned credit must arrange for the transfer of their grades from the original jurisdiction to the Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy (Board).

[bookmark: RE‐EXAM_APPLICANTS]RE‐EXAM APPLICANTS
A re‐exam application must be completed by applicants who have previously tested for at least one exam section.  A candidate must have sat for at least one section as an Arkansas candidate to be apply as a re‐exam applicant.

[bookmark: COMPLETING_THE_APPLICATION_FORM]COMPLETING THE APPLICATION FORM
ALL questions on the application must be answered for the application to be considered complete. You must provide both your home and employer address.

Your name must exactly match the name on your primary government photo issued ID that will be used for admittance to the Prometric Testing Center.  If your ID only has your middle initial do not put your complete middle name on the application, use only your initial.

When answering the moral character questions on page two of the application, applicants should consider all enforcement charges such as but not limited to DUI, false I.D., drug use or any other acts classified under state and federal law as criminal.  In addition, you should include any charges or enforcement action that has caused a professional credential or license to be cancelled, revoked, or suspended.  A court disposition must be submitted when charges are disclosed on the CPA exam application.  The court disposition should detail the nature of the charges and the outcome of those charges.  Please be advised that the Board will perform a background check before you become licensed.  If there is an entry reported on your record and you have not previously notified the Board, you could be in violation of Board Rules.

Initial applicants should allow 2 to 4 weeks from the time all required materials are received for processing of the application and education documentation.  Re‐exam applicants should allow 1 to 2 weeks.
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[bookmark: OFFICIAL_TRANSCRIPTS]OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPTS
First‐time candidates must arrange to have the official transcripts from all colleges or universities attended sent directly from the registrar’s office to the Board’s office.  All transcripts submitted must be signed by the registrar or another official representative of the institution.  Transcripts that are received with the exam application or that are marked “issued to student” or without the official seal will not be accepted.  A transcript is required from each college/university attended even though the transcript from the institution conferring the degree may show all your transferred course credits.  IT IS THE APPLICANT’S RESPONSIBILITY TO REQUEST THE COLLEGE OR UNIVERSITY TO FORWARD OFFICIAL COPIES OF ALL TRANSCRIPTS TO THE BOARD.  Electronic transcripts from the college or university are acceptable.

If your name has changed (marriage, divorce, etc.) since you attended college and the name on your transcript does not match the name on your application, please provide a photocopy of the official document which authorizes the name change.

[bookmark: DEGREE_QUALIFICATON]DEGREE QUALIFICATON
Applicants must have completed all degree and course requirements prior to applying for the examination. Your official transcript(s) must show the degree you have been awarded and the conferral date of said degree. Applicants still enrolled in courses needed for graduation or to meet the 120‐hour requirement, regardless of the type of courses, are not eligible to be approved for exam candidacy.

Please note: If your degree has been earned but will be conferred later, you may have the Registrar’s office send the Board an official letter stating you have earned the degree, and it will be conferred later. The letter should include the degree and the date it is to be conferred.

[bookmark: SUPPLEMENTAL_COURSE_DESCRIPTIONS]SUPPLEMENTAL COURSE DESCRIPTIONS
Applicants may be required to submit additional documentation relating to certain courses, due to differing catalog/transcript course titles and requirements for graduation.  Additionally, unless the university has had their internship credit program formally approved by the Board, applicants will also be required to submit documentation regarding internships and independent study used to satisfy the accounting or business education requirements.  The documentation must include a full description of the duties performed from both school officials and the person to whom they reported. Internships and independent study must be listed on the official transcript.

[bookmark: FOREIGN_(NON‐UNITED_STATES)_ACADEMIC_CRE]FOREIGN (NON‐UNITED STATES) ACADEMIC CREDENTIALS/TRANSCRIPTS
[bookmark: FEES]The Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy does not evaluate foreign transcripts. It is the applicant’s responsibility to obtain an evaluation of their foreign transcripts to include equivalency of the degree and credits earned to a U.S. degree.  Applicants may use any evaluation services if the service is a member of the National Association of Credential Evaluators (NACES) at www.naces.org.  A copy of the evaluation must be sent directly from the evaluator to the Board’s office.






FEES
Applicants may apply for one or more examination section(s) of the examination and take them in any order. However, you should not apply and pay for any examination section(s) unless you are ready to take the exam(s) within the next six (6) months, as Notice to Schedules expire six months after issuance. Also, please be advised that candidates are prohibited from applying for section(s) of the exam if they already have a current Notice to Schedule for those section(s).  Candidates may reapply once the Notice to Schedule has expired, or when all the exam sections of the current Notice to Schedule have been taken. Please note that application fees are non-refundable.


Applicants are required to pay application fees upon submission of each application. These fees are nonrefundable and may not be used towards a future application to sit for the examination.  Initial (first‐time) applicants must also pay an initial application fee.  The application fees to be submitted with the application are as follows:
	Initial (first‐time)	$  50.00
	Examination 1 section	$  75.00
	Examination 2 sections	$  90.00
	Examination 3 sections	$105.00
	Examination 4 sections	$120.00
[bookmark: AND]
Applicants must also pay section fees for each examination which cover the cost of administering the exam and are set by the AICPA, NASBA and Prometric.  These section fees are collected by the Board and paid to the examination providers for the following examination sections:
	Financial Accounting & Reporting (FAR)	$254.80
	Regulation (REG)	$254.80
	Auditing (AUD)	$254.80
	Business Analysis & Reporting (BAR)	$254.80
	Tax Compliance & Planning (TCP)	$254.80
	Information Systems & Controls (ISC)	$254.80

[bookmark: REFUND_POLICY]
REFUND POLICY
If the applicant does not meet the requirements to sit for the exam or decides not to take the exam before an NTS is issued, the Board will refund exam section fees ($254.80 per section) but not the application fees.


[bookmark: APPLICATION_STATUS_INQUIRIES]APPLICATION STATUS INQUIRIES
Please be advised that information regarding any application will only be discussed with the applicant. Information will not be released to spouses, parents, or employers.  If you have a question regarding your application or correspondence received from Board staff, you will need to contact the Board.  If your employer requires information regarding your application, the Board will need to have written permission from you to release that information.

[bookmark: CANDIDATES_WITH_DISABILITIES]CANDIDATES WITH DISABILITIES
In accordance with the provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act, candidates who qualify for examination administrative modifications must notify the Arkansas State Board of Accountancy in writing of their requested accommodations.  A form is available for this purpose and may be obtained by contacting the Board.  Upon receipt of your request, it will be considered, and you will be notified of the Board's decision.  Documentation of a disability and/or previous accommodations must be attached to the exam application.

Candidates must make a written request every time they apply for the examination and require special modifications. To ensure that you receive appropriate accommodations, make your written request as early as possible. Do not schedule your exam until your request has been approved by the Board.  The Board will not pay any costs you may incur in obtaining the required diagnosis and recommendation.

[bookmark: NON‐DISCLOSED_EXAMINATION]NON‐DISCLOSED EXAMINATION
The Certified Public Accountant Examination is a non‐disclosed examination. This means that candidates cannot obtain copies of examination questions or copies of their answers after the examination is administered.  To protect the confidentiality of examination contents, candidates are required to acknowledge confidentiality statements at examination administrations in all locations.

[bookmark: COMPUTER_BASED_CPA_EXAMINATION_AUTHORIZA]COMPUTER BASED CPA EXAMINATION
The CPA Examination is given in a computer‐based format.  There is a national database of all CPA examination candidates that is used to verify applicant eligibility and CPA exam testing schedules.  The national candidate database includes information received from 54 jurisdictions and is managed by the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA).
Because of the high probability that there could be similar names, addresses and other identifying information in the national candidate database, it is critical to include information that is unique to each candidate.  Examples of unique personal information include the applicant’s date of birth, mother’s maiden name, and social security number.
Applications to take the CPA Exam will not be processed unless sufficient candidate information to provide accurate identification is entered in the national candidate database.

[bookmark: NOTICE_TO_TEST]NOTICE TO TEST
Once your eligibility to take the exam is determined, the Board will send an Authorization to Test (ATT) to NASBA’s National Candidate Database (NCD).  NASBA will then issue a Notice to Schedule (NTS) to applicants via e‐mail.  An eligible candidate has 6 months from the date of the NTS to schedule and take the approved examination section(s). Utilizing the NTS, candidates are required to contact Prometric for site location(s) and test times. For a list of the Prometric Testing Centers in Arkansas, visit their web site at www.prometric.com.  The Board does not control space availability or locale of the testing centers.

If a candidate requires rescheduling to take the CPA examination, the candidate must contact Prometric. Please be advised that Prometric may charge a fee to reschedule an appointment. (Refer to the Candidate Bulletin.)




[bookmark: EXAMINATION_SCORES_AND_GRADE_RELEASE]EXAMINATION SCORES AND GRADE RELEASE
The minimum passing grade for each section of the computer‐based examination is 75. Candidates who pass a section will be granted credit for each section passed.  Test scores will be mailed by the Board as soon as they are received, verified, and processed.  Scores are also available from NASBA.  You will need your section ID from the NTS to access your scores online.

There are quality control standards that must be met at the Board’s office before scores can be mailed. Please be advised that candidates in other jurisdictions may receive scores before Arkansas candidates. Candidates should not call NASBA or the AICPA regarding their score release. The Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy is the only authority authorized to release scores to Arkansas candidates.

[bookmark: CREDIT_FOR_SUBJECTS_AFTER_COMPUTERIZATIO]EXAM SECTION CREDITS
A candidate may take test sections individually and in any order.  Credit for any test section(s) passed shall be valid for thirty (30) months from the date that the test score was released.  Candidates cannot apply for a failed test section until the score for that exam has been released.
A candidate must pass all four test sections of the CPA Examination (3 core exams and one disciplinary exam) within a thirty (30) month period to qualify for a license.  If all sections are not passed within a thirty (30) month period, then exam sections falling outside the thirty (30) month period will be lost and must be retaken.

[bookmark: MATERIALS_TO_BE_SUBMITTED_BY_INITIAL_APP]MATERIALS TO BE SUBMITTED BY INITIAL APPLICANTS
First‐time (and transfer) applicants must submit the following to the Board:
(1) Official transcript(s) (or foreign evaluation) showing degree conferred sent directly to the Board  from each academic institution at which credit toward the educational requirement was earned.  A transcript is required from each college/university attended even if the transcript from the institution conferring the degree shows all your transferred course credits.  Please note: If your degree has been earned but will be conferred at a later date, you may have the Registrar’s office send the Board an official letter stating that you have earned the degree and it will be conferred at a later date. The letter should include the degree and the date it is to be conferred.
(2) Clear, color copy of government issued identification document – (State issued driver’s license, state
identification card, current US passport, or current foreign passport). This can be mailed or emailed to the exam specialist.
				
(3) Unless the university has had their internship credit program formally approved by the Board, internship letters from the University and the company where the internship was completed are required if internship hours are needed to fulfill the accounting or business requirement.  These letters must be on the company and university’s letterhead and include a statement detailing the internee’s duties and their job performance.
(4) If any legal charges against the applicant was disclosed on the CPA exam application, a court disposition detailing the charges and the outcome of those charges must be submitted.





[bookmark: MATERIALS_TO_BE_SUBMITTED_BY_RE‐EXAM_APP]MATERIALS TO BE SUBMITTED BY RE‐EXAM APPLICANTS
A re‐exam candidate must submit a clear, color copy of a government issued identification document only if the previously submitted identification has expired. Also, if the re‐exam candidate’s name has changed since the last application, an official document authorizing the name change must be submitted along with a color copy of their new identification document.


[bookmark: APPLICATION_CHECKLIST]APPLICATION CHECKLIST
Did you check the appropriate application type? Did you answer all questions?
Did you provide a copy of legal documentation authorizing a name change if the name on your transcript and application do not match?
Did you pay the appropriate fees?
Did you request transcripts from all schools attended? Does the name on your application exactly match your id? Did you provide a valid e‐mail address?

[bookmark: EXAMINATION_INFORMATION_RESOURCES]EXAMINATION INFORMATION RESOURCES
NASBA	www.nasba.org
Candidate Guide	www.nasba.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/08/CPA-Exam-Candidate-Guide_08272024.pdf
AICPA	https://www.aicpa-cima.com/home
Exam Blueprint	www.aicpa-cima.com/resources/article/learn-what-is-tested-on-the-cpa-exam
Sample Test	www.aicpa-cima.com/resources/video/get-familiar-with-the-cpa-exam-by-practicing-with-our-sample-tests
Prometric	www.prometric.com


ITEMS TO TAKE TO THE EXAMINATION SITE
· Notice to Schedule – Must be printed.
· Two forms of identification, one of which must be a government issued photo ID with your signature, such as a driver’s license, passport, or military ID. The second ID may include another government issued photo ID, an ID issued by the Board of Accountancy or a valid, unexpired bank ATM card or debit card.  The names on both forms of ID must match the name entered on the application form.  Each form of identification must bear your signature and must not be expired.
[bookmark: PERSONAL_IDENTIFICATION]

PERSONAL IDENTIFICATION
If the test center staff has questions about the identification presented, you may be asked for additional proof of identity.  You may be refused access to an examination and forfeit the examination fee for that section if the staff believes that you have not proven your identity.  Admittance to the test center and examination does not imply that your identification is valid or that your scores will be reported if subsequent investigations reveal impersonation or forgery.

The Uniform CPA Examination employs very strict security measures.  One level of security involves your identification.  The same form of your name must appear on your application, NTS and on the identification you present at the test center. Do not change the spelling and do not change the order of your name on applications or when making appointments.  If your name is different from your identifications at check‐in, you will not be permitted to test.

[bookmark: PRIMARY_FORMS_OF_IDENTIFICATION]PRIMARY FORMS OF IDENTIFICATION
· Valid (not expired) driver’s license with photo and signature issued by one of the fifty U.S. states or by a
· U.S. territory
· Valid (not expired) driver’s license with photo and signature issued by a foreign government authority, that is printed in English to the extent necessary to compare the candidate’s name with the one on the NTS and confirm that it is a valid driver’s license (Examples are driver’s licenses issued by Canadian, Australian, New Zealand, British authorities, and from countries that retain English as an official language)
· Valid (not expired) passport with photo and signature issued by the U.S.
· Valid (not expired) government issued passport (for non‐US citizens) that has the candidate’s name exactly matching the Passport Name field that appears on the candidate’s NTS
· Valid state identification card issued by one of the fifty U.S. states or by a U.S. territory (Candidates who do not drive may have an identification card issued by the agency that also issues driver’s licenses)
· Valid U.S. Military identification

[bookmark: SECONDARY_FORMS_OF_IDENTIFICATION]SECONDARY FORMS OF IDENTIFICATION
· An additional Government issued identification from the above listing.
· Valid credit card
· Bank automated teller machine card (ATM)
· Bank Debit Card

[bookmark: THE_FOLLOWING_ARE_UNACCEPTABLE_FORMS_OF_]THE FOLLOWING ARE UNACCEPTABLE FORMS OF IDENTIFICATION
· A draft classification card
· A Social Security card
· A student identification card
· A United States permanent residency card (green card)


Keep these instructions, Board Rules, the Accountancy Law, and a copy of your completed application for your records.
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