Case No. JB05292024B

BEFORE THE ARKANSAS HVAC/R LICENSING BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF TREY BUTLER LYLE, RESPONDENT
CASE NO. JB05292024B

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSION OF LAW, AND ORDER
A hearing in this matter was held at 10:00 a.m. on September 11, 2024, before the Arkansas
HVAC/R Board (“Board”) located at 900 West Capitol Ave., Suite 400, Little Rock. AR 72201.

Trey Butler Lyle (“Respondent”) appeared via ZOOM on his own behalf. The Arkansas
Department of Labor and Licensing General Counsel Daniel L. Parker appeared on behalf of the
Board. From all the evidence presented the Board makes the following Findings of Fact,

Conclusions of Law, and Order.

FINDINGS OF FACT
1. OnMay 29, 2024, HVAC/R Board field inspector Jeffrey Brenaman (“Brenaman™)

conducted an investigation and inspection of an HVAC unit located at 6146 Old
Concord Rd., Van Buren, Arkansas 72756 in response to a complaint from the
homeowner concerning an assessment provided by Respondent on May 28, 2024.

2. A copy of the inspection report was authenticated by Brenaman, received in
evidence at the hearing, and is attached hereto as Exhibit A.

3. Contrary to Respondent’s assessment that the HVAC unit was not operating due to
the wear and tear of the equipment, Brenaman found evidence that the unit had
been compromised due to a recent lightning strike beyond normal wear and tear.

4. Respondent conducted the assessment pursuant to registration card 0001858
registered with Green County Refrigeration and Class A License Holder Dustin
Green. Respondent was not given authority to use Mr. Green’s Class A license and
did not conduct the inspection under Mr. Green’s supervision.

5. Respondent testified at the hearing that he was unaware at the time of the inspection
that a Class A HVAC/R license was required but admitted upon cross examination

that his HVAC/R registration card did not under Arkansas law allow him to perform
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independent inspections outside the scope of his Green County Refrigeration
registration.

Respondent knowingly performed HVAC work without the required license in
violation of Arkansas Code § 17-33-301 and should be assessed a civil penalty of

two hundred fifty dollars ($250) pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-33-105.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Respondent’s actions constitute one (1) violation of Arkansas Code § 17-33-301
for performing HVAC work without the required license.

Respondent should be assessed a civil penalty of two hundred fifty dollars ($250)
pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-33-105.

ORDER
Based upon the foregoing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, Respondent is
found guilty of one (1) count of violating Arkansas Code § 17-33-301 for
performing HVAC work without the required license and assessed a civil penalty

of two hundred fifty dollars ($250) pursuant to Arkansas Code § 17-33-105.

Pursuant to Arkansas Code § 25-15-212 of the Arkansas Administrative Procedure Act,

Arkansas Code § 25-15-201 et seq., Respondent may petition for judicial review of this

decision by filing a petition in the Circuit Court in the County in which he resides or does

business or in the Circuit Court of Pulaski County within thirty (30) days after service of this

HEATING, VENTILLATION, AIR CONDITIONING and
REFRIGERATION LICENSING BOARD,
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND LICENSING,

STATE OF ARKANSAS

Alan Dean, Chairman

Date: ?-16-8004




Approved as to form:

/sl Daniel L. Powker

Daniel L. Parker

Ark. Bar No. 87130

General Counsel

Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Samantha L. Martinez, do hereby swear and affirm that a true and correct copy of the

above and foregoing was sent via regular and certified mail, # , to the

following on this 24 day of September, 2024:

Respondent

Trey Butler Lyle
25805 Prairie bell Rd.
Bokoshe, Oklahoma 74930

Samantha L. Martinez
Code Enforcement Coordinator Supervisor
Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing

Batch#: 9

Article #: 92148969009997902402048427
Date/Time: 9/24/2024 1:11:58 PM

Internal File #:;
Internal Code:



