State of Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board



Commercial New Application

By obtaining a commercial license you automatically qualify to do residential work in the same classification / specialty(s) as those listed on the commercial license.

\$100.00 Filing Fee – Check or money order only NON-REFUNDABLE / NON-TRANSFERABLE

MAIL INFORMATION TO :

CONTRACTORS LICENSING BOARD 4100 RICHARDS ROAD NORTH LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS 72117

> Main Phone Number (501) 372-4661 FAX Number (501) 372-2247 Web Site: <u>www.arkansas.gov/clb</u>

Effective Date 1/2025 (Commercial New App) 1.

Commercial New Application Type of License

You can apply for an <u>Unrestricted</u> Commercial license or a <u>Restricted</u> Commercial license.

With a <u>Restricted</u> Commercial license, you can ONLY do Commercial projects that are less than \$750,000, including, but not limited to, labor and material.

Please \checkmark the box for the license being applied for....



Restricted Commercial license

<u>Restricted</u> Commercial license can ONLY do Commercial projects that are less than \$750,000 including, but not limited to, labor and material.

See page 3 for instructions



Unrestricted Commercial license

<u>Unrestricted</u> Commercial license can do a/an Commercial projects of any size. See page 4 for instructions

RESTRICTED COMMERCIAL LICENSE INSTRUCTIONS/CHECKLIST

The completed application must be in this office <u>three (3) weeks prior to a board meeting</u> to be reviewed. For a list of meeting dates, check our website at <u>www.arkansas.gov/clb</u>. Once the application is received in our office, it must be complete by 90 days. After 90 days, another application, filing fee, etc. will be required.

By obtaining a commercial license you automatically qualify to do residential work in the same classification / specialty(s) as those listed on the commercial license.

- 1. Complete the Application- Pages 2, 5, 6, 7, 11, 12 (if applicable), 13, and 14.
- 2. \$100.00 filing fee made payable to the Contractors Licensing Board. (Fees are NON-REFUNDABLE / NON-TRANSFERABLE)
- 3. Three (3) references on forms provided (pages 8, 9, and 10). The references should <u>not</u> be from a supplier or banker unless they have observed your work and can describe it. The purpose of these references is to verify you have the appropriate required experience to receive the classification(s) / specialty(s) requested. Please refer to page 6 and 7 of this application or the Arkansas State Licensing Law for Commercial Contractors Rules 224-25-5 of Act 150 for any questions about the classification(s) / specialty(s). We cannot accept references that are more than 90 days old.
- 4. Fully executed \$10,000.00 Contractor's Bond, that <u>must be in Principal Name & EIN, as registered with the Secretary of State's office</u>. Please refer to pages 15 & 16 for more information about the bond. The license can be approved but not released until the Bond and Power of Attorney is filed with the Board unless the same entity currently has a license or registration with our office.
- 5. Copy of the Arkansas Business and Law passing test score. Please refer to page 17 & 18 for more information about the test. The license can be approved but not released without this passing test score unless the same entity currently has a license or registration with our office.
- 6a). A <u>Compiled</u> report from a CPA (CPA cannot be an in-house CPA) must be submitted. The date the financial statement was prepared for, not the date the financial was signed must be less than one year old. (The expiration date of the license will be determined by the date of the financial statement submitted.) The financial statement must include:
 - (1) Report letter from an Independent CPA
 - (2) Balance sheet prepared in accordance with GAAP or on an Income Tax Basis (Accrual Method)
 - (3) Footnotes are **not required**

Refer to Rules Act 150 (224-25-6). One half (1/2) of the net worth requirement for the classification(s) / specialty(s) requested must be CASH in the bank and **cannot be a stockholder note to the company or receivables**. Example: If asking for the Building classification, the net worth requirement is \$50,000 half of that \$25,000 will need to be cash in the bank. If asking for a specialty(s), the net worth requirement is \$5,000 half of that \$2,500 will need to be cash in the bank.

- 6b). To submit a Bond in Lieu of a Financial Statement, use the Surety Bond in Lieu of Financial Statement at <u>www.arkansas.gov/clb</u> under FORMS. (ORIGINAL completed bond must be filed with the Board for processing) <u>Understand that this bond does not replace the \$10,000 Contractors Surety Bond that is required.</u>
- 7. If applying as a Corporation, LLC, LP, or LLP, attach a <u>copy</u> of the Articles/Filings from your entity's Secretary of State's Office. If a fictitious name has been registered for this company, attach a <u>copy</u> of the fictitious name registration.
- 8. **If the applicant has one or more employees:** You must have Worker's Compensation insurance coverage. Provide us with a current certificate of insurance verifying Worker's Compensation insurance coverage.
- 9. If the applicant is also applying for a Residential License with a classification or / specialty(s) different from that of the commercial license: The applicant will need to complete the New Application for a Residential License. No additional fee or test is required, but the application must be completed, and references given for the appropriate classification / specialty(s) requested to work in the Residential industry.

UNRESTRICTED COMMERCIAL LICENSE Projects of Any Size INSTRUCTIONS/CHECKLIST

The completed application must be in this office <u>three (3) weeks prior to a board meeting</u> to be reviewed. For a list of meeting dates, check our website at <u>www.arkansas.gov/clb</u>. Once the application is received in our office, it must be complete by 90 days. After 90 days, another application, filing fee, etc. will be required.

By obtaining a commercial license you automatically qualify to do residential work in the same classification / specialty(s) as those listed on the commercial license.

- 1. Complete the Application- Pages 2, 5, 6, 7, 11, 12 (if applicable), 13, and 14.
- 2. \$100.00 filing fee made payable to the Contractors Licensing Board. (Fees are NON-REFUNDABLE / NON-TRANSFERABLE)
- 3. Three (3) references on forms provided (pages 8, 9, and 10). The references should <u>not</u> be from a supplier or banker unless they have observed your work and can describe it. The purpose of these references is to verify you have the appropriate required experience to receive the classification(s) / specialty(s) requested. Please refer to page 6 and 7 of this application or the Arkansas State Licensing Law for Commercial Contractors Rules 224-25-5 of Act 150 for any questions about the classification(s) / specialty(s). We cannot accept references that are more than 90 days old.
- 4. Fully executed \$10,000.00 Contractor's Bond, that <u>must be in Principal Name & EIN, as registered with the Secretary of State's office</u>. Please refer to pages 15 & 16 for more information about the bond. The license can be approved but not released until the Bond and Power of Attorney is filed with the Board unless the same entity currently has a license or registration with our office.
- 5. Copy of the Arkansas Business and Law passing test score. Please refer to page 17 & 18 for more information about the test. The license can be approved but not released without this passing test score unless the same entity currently has a license or registration with our office.
- 6a). A Reviewed or Audited financial statement from a CPA (CPA cannot be an in-house CPA) must be submitted. The date financial statement was prepared for, not the date the financial was signed must be less than one year old. (The expiration date of the license will be determined by the date of the financial statement submitted.) The financial statement must include:
 - (1) Reviewed report or Audited opinion letter from an Independent CPA
 - (2) Balance sheet prepared in accordance with GAAP or on an Income Tax Basis (Accrual Method)
 - (3) All footnotes to the balance sheet (See Ark. Code Ann. 17-25-304)

REFER TO Rules Act 150 (224-25-6). One half (1/2) of the net worth requirement for the classification(s) / specialty(s) requested must be CASH in the bank and **cannot be a stockholder note to the company or receivables**. Example: If asking for the Building classification, the net worth requirement is \$50,000 half of that \$25,000 will need to be cash in the bank. If asking for a specialty (s), the net worth requirement is \$5,000 half of that \$2,500 will need to be cash in the bank.

- 6b). To submit a Bond in Lieu of a Financial Statement, use the Surety Bond in Lieu of Financial Statement at <u>www.arkansas.gov/clb</u> under FORMS. (ORIGINAL completed bond must be filed with the Board for processing) <u>Understand that this bond does not replace the \$10,000 Contractors Surety Bond that is required.</u>
- 7. If applying as a Corporation, LLC, LP, or LLP, attach a <u>copy</u> of the Articles/Filings from your entity's Secretary of State's Office. If a fictitious name has been registered for this company, attach a <u>copy</u> of the fictitious name registration.
- 8. **If the applicant has one or more employees:** You must have Worker's Compensation insurance coverage. Provide us with a current certificate of insurance verifying Worker's Compensation insurance coverage.
- 9. If the applicant is also applying for a Residential License with a classification or / specialty(s) different from that of the commercial license: The applicant will need to complete the New Application for a Residential License. No additional fee or test is required, but the application must be completed, and references given for the appropriate classification / specialty(s) requested to work in the Residential industry.

CLB OFFICAL USE ONLY - ((Do not write in this space)

Filing Fee: \$ _____

ID#: _____ Restricted Unrestricted

Commercial New Application

PRINT NAME OF COMPANY OR NAME (IF APPLYING AS A SOLE PROPERIORSHIP) AS YOU WISH FOR IT TO APPEAR ON LICENSE. IF APPLYING AS A CORPORATION, LLC, OR LLP, IT MUST READ EXACTLY AS REGISTERED WITH THE SECRETARY OF STATE OFFICE. APPLICANTS MUST CONDUCT / CONTRACT BUSINESS UNDER THE EXACT NAME SHOWN UPON THE LICENSE.

ANSWER ALL OF THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS:

Indicate the type of entity seeking a license by circling one of the choices below:

SOLE PROPRIETORSHIP	CORPORATION	LLC	PARTNERSHIP	LP	LLP

List Corporation Name, LLC Name, Partnership Name, LP Name, LLP Name, or Sole Proprietorship Name

as applying for License:

If Applicable, Fictitious Name / d/b/a Name:	
Federal ID# / EIN	Company Tax Year End
Mailing Address	City
State Zip Code	County/Parish
Physical Address if different from above	
Company Phone	Company E-mail
Name and Phone # for person to Contact with	any Questions regarding this application:
•	g with information on the person that aken the Business & Law Exam
	Social Security #
Effective Date 1/2025 (Commercial New App)	5.

CLASSIFICATIONS

Please circle the classification(s) being requested.

<u>A description of each class can be found in our Arkansas State Licensing Law for</u> <u>Commercial Contractors Rules 224-25-5(i) of Act 150.</u>

Classification(s) / specialty(s) marked with ** require an Arkansas Trade License or Certification.

MAJOR CLASSIFICATIONS Must show five (5) years of experience for the following classifications. 1. Heavy Construction 4. Building (Commercial & Residential) 2. Municipal & Utility 5. Light Building (Commercial & Residential) 6. Mechanical (Plumbing & HVACR) 3. Highway, Railroad & Airport ** 7. Electrical SPECIALTY(S) Must show one (1) year of experience for the following classifications. Above Ground Tanks Grain Bins Greenhouses Asbestos ** Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning, Refrigeration Awnings, Canopies & Gutters HRA Miscellaneous & Specialty Items Base & Paving a. Traffic Safety a. Base Construction b. Hot & Cold Mixes 1. Pavement Markers c. Surface Treatment 2. Signaling 3. Guardrails & Fencing d. Asphalt e. Concrete Paving 4. Attenuators, Signalization & Roadway Lighting Blinds, Curtains, Draperies, Theatrical b. Landscaping Boat Docks 1. Seeding **Boiler Construction & Repair** 2. Sodding **Bulk Storage Facilities** 3. Planting Cable Television Lines (Above & Below Ground) 4. Chemical weed & brush control c. Pavement Rehabilitation Car Washes Carpentry, Framing, Millwork, Cabinets 1. Pressure grouting Ceilings, Wall Systems, Acoustical Treatments 2. Grinding & grooving Chemical Resistant Tile & Brick 3. Concrete joints Chimneys, Fireplaces 4. Underdrains Cofferdams, Dikes, Levees, Canals d. Miscellaneous Concrete Communication, Computer or Sound Systems, Cabling 1. Sidewalks Concrete 2. Driveways **Control Systems & Instrumentation** 3. Curb & gutter Conveyors, Material Handling Systems, Cranes, Hoists 4. Box culverts Cooling Towers Hydraulics Demolition, Blasting Incinerator & Stack Construction Dredging Indoor/Outdoor Advertising Institutional & Kitchen Equipment Institutional & Kitchen Equipment Drvwall Insulation **Electrical Transmission Lines** Interior Work Kilns, Drying Systems Elevators, Escalators, Dumbwaiters, Chairlifts **Energy & Chemical Pipelines** Landfills Energy Management, Retrofit Systems Landscaping, Irrigation, Lawn Sprinkler Systems, Streams Environmental General Landscaping with Planting **Erosion Control** Lathe, Plaster, Stucco, Dryvit, EIFS ** Factory Trained Medical Equipment Technician Lead Abatement ("exemption" from Electrical Board required) Lift Stations, Pumps Lightning Protection Fencing, Gates Fiberglass Liners Marine Docks Fireproofing Floors, Floor Covering Masonrv Mausoleums Foundation Construction or Drilling, Pile Driving, Stabilization Furnaces, Fuel Burning or Heat Transfer Equipment, Medical Shielded Enclosures Stokers, Refractories Metal Buildings, Detached Structures, Storage Buildings Furniture, Recreational and/or Playground Equipment, Metal Studs, Walls Bleachers, Seating, Partitions Meter Installation & Service ** Gas Fitter Microwave Systems, Towers, Satellite Dishes Generators, Turbines Millwright Glass, Glazing, Doors, Windows, Hardware, Storefront Oil & Gas Field Construction, Rigging Golf Cart & Foot Bridges & Paths **Overhead Doors & Dock Equipment Golf Courses** Paint Booths Grading & Drainage (Includes Pipe & Structures, Culverts, Painting, Wallcovering Clearing, Grubbing & Rip Rap, Excavation) Passenger Boarding Bridges

Effective Date 1/2025 (Commercial New App)

SPECIALTY(S) (Continued from page 6) - **<u>Requires an Arkansas Trade License or Certification</u>

Dining Dracess Dining Value Danair	** Chaot Motal Duata Vantilation
Piping, Process Piping, Valve Repair Plant Maintenance	** <u>Sheet Metal, Ducts, Ventilation</u> Siding, Soffit, Facia, Gutters
Plating & Waste Treatment Systems ** Plumbing	 ** Signal or Burglar Alarms, Fire Detection & Monitoring Systems
Pneumatic Tube Systems	Skylights Solar Systems
Pollution, Air & Dust Control, Blower & Exhaust Systems	Solar Systems
Poultry & Swine Electrical	Special Coatings or Applications, Caulking, Waterproofing
Poultry & Swine Houses	Sport & Recreational Surfaces
Poultry (HVACR)	** <u>Sprinklers, Fire Protection</u>
Precipitators	Steel, Alloy, Ornamental, Metal Fabrication, Welding
Railroad Construction & Related Items	Storm Shelters
Rebar	Substations
** <u>Refrigeration, Cold Storage</u>	Swimming Pools, Spas
Remediation	Temperature Controls (Electric)
Remodeling, Renovations, Restoration, Alterations	Temperature Controls (Pneumatic)
Retaining Walls	Testing & Balancing
Right of Way Clearing	Tile, Terrazzo, Marble, Countertops
Roofs, Roof Decks, Roofing Sheet Metal	Tuckpointing
Sandblasting, Hydroblasting, Dry Ice Blasting	Tunnels, Shafts
Scaffolding	Underground Piping, Cable, Trenching, Boring
Scales	** Underground Storage Tanks
** Septic Tank Installation & Repair	Water and Sewer Lines
Security, Banking, Detention Equipment	Water Lines Associated with Fire Protection
(Bars & safety no certificate needed)	** Water Wells
Service Station Equipment	135Wind Turbines

What type(s) of work do you propose to perform as a Licensed Contractor: (Be specific)

If any of the following specialty(s) are being requested, then attach a copy of the Arkansas
trade license/certificate.
1. Asbestos (call 501-682-0744)
2. Boiler Construction & Repair (call 501-682-4553)
3. Electrical (call 501-682-4548)
4. Elevators, Escalators, Dumbwaiters, Chairlifts (call 501-682-4530)
5. Gas Fitter (call 501-661-2642)
6. HVACR (call 501-682-9201)
7. Landscaping w/Planting (call 501-225-1598)
8. Lead Abatement (call 501-671-1472)
9. Plumbing (call 501-661-2642) 10. Refrigeration, Cold Storage (call 501-682-9201)
11. Septic Tank Installation & Repair (call 501-661-1217)
12. Sheet Metal, Ducts, Ventilation (call 501-682-9201)
13. Signal or Burglar Alarms, Fire Detection & Monitoring Systems (call 501-618-8600)
14. Sprinkler, Fire Protection (call 501-661-7903)
15. Underground Storage Tanks (call 501-682-0993)
16. Water Wells (call 501-682-3900)
Complete the following section for each person that holds an Arkansas trade license/certificate (<u>if more than one attach information separately</u>).
Name Social Security #
How long has this individual been with this company?
Position held with this company, check one: Sole Owner
Full time paid employee
Officer, member, or partner of the company and
is actively involved in the day to day operations

Experience must be shown on each reference (pages 8, 9, and 10) for each classification(s)/specialty(s) requested.

Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board 4100 RICHARDS ROAD NORTH LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS 72117 Main Phone 501-372-4661 (FAX 501-372-2247)

REFERENCE

(The individual giving the reference, not the person applying for the Arkansas Contractor's License, must complete this form and complete it legibly.)

APPLICANT NAME & ADDRESS as shown on application

(GIVE DETAILED ANSWERS) THE PURPOSE OF THIS FORM IS TO VERIFY WORK EXPERIENCE, <u>NOT CREDIT HISTORY.</u>

- 1. Yes <u>No</u> Are you related to or affiliated with the owners of the company or any of the employees? If yes, you are not eligible to complete this form. <u>STOP!!!</u>
- 2. If this is a new company, or you are giving a reference for an employee of a company, list the individual you are verifying work experience for:______
- 3. _____ To your personal knowledge, how long has the company or individual been performing the type of work listed in this reference?
- 4. List the type of work this company or individual has completed of which you have firsthand knowledge. Please state if the work is New Construction, Addition to Existing Structure, Etc. (be specific)
- 5. List specific projects this company or individual has completed of which you have firsthand knowledge. Please state if the work is New Construction, Addition to Existing Structure, Etc. Please be specific including the name of the project(s), dollar amount of the project(s), square feet of the project(s), and approximate date of the project(s).
- 6. Yes ____ No ____ Are you aware of any project that this company or individual has failed to complete? If yes, explain.
- 7. In your own words describe this company or individual's overall performance and ability to meet the customers' needs.
- 8. Yes ____ No ____ Would you recommend this company or individual to be a licensed contractor? If no, please explain.
- 9. Yes ____ No ____ Are you aware of any incidences where this company or individual has failed to pay for materials, failed to pay employees or subcontractors? If yes, please provide details.

By signing this form, I swear or affirm under oath that the foregoing reference information, including any attachments, is/are true and correct.

Name & Address of Person giving this reference: (Print)	
	Signature
	Date
	Phone No

REFERENCE

<u>(The individual giving the reference, not the person applying for the Arkansas Contractor's License,</u> <u>must complete this form and complete it legibly.</u>)

APPLICANT NAME & ADDRESS as shown on application

(GIVE DETAILED ANSWERS) THE PURPOSE OF THIS FORM IS TO VERIFY WORK EXPERIENCE, <u>NOT CREDIT HISTORY.</u>

- 1. Yes ____ No ____ Are you related to or affiliated with the owners of the company or any of the employees? If yes, you are not eligible to complete this form. <u>STOP!!!</u>
- 2. If this is a new company, or you are giving a reference for an employee of a company, list the individual you are verifying work experience for:______
- 3. _____ To your personal knowledge, how long has the company or individual been performing the type of work listed in this reference?
- 4. List the type of work this company or individual has completed of which you have firsthand knowledge. Please state if the work is New Construction, Addition to Existing Structure, Etc. (be specific)
- 5. List specific projects this company or individual has completed of which you have firsthand knowledge. Please state if the work is New Construction, Addition to Existing Structure, Etc. Please be specific including the name of the project(s), dollar amount of the project(s), square feet of the project(s), and approximate date of the project(s).
- 6. Yes ____ No ____ Are you aware of any project that this company or individual has failed to complete? If yes, explain.
- 7. In your own words describe this company or individual's overall performance and ability to meet the customers' needs.
- 8. Yes ____ No ____ Would you recommend this company or individual to be a licensed contractor? If no, please explain.
- 9. Yes <u>No</u> Are you aware of any incidences where this company or individual has failed to pay for materials, failed to pay employees or subcontractors? If yes, please provide details.

By signing this form, I swear or affirm under oath that the foregoing reference information, including any attachments, is/are true and correct.

Name & Address of Person giving this reference: (Print)

Signature_____ Date _____

Phone No.

REFERENCE

(The individual giving the reference, not the person applying for the Arkansas Contractor's License, must complete this form and complete it legibly.)

APPLICANT NAME & ADDRESS as shown on application

(GIVE DETAILED ANSWERS) THE PURPOSE OF THIS FORM IS TO VERIFY WORK EXPERIENCE, <u>NOT CREDIT HISTORY.</u>

- 1. Yes <u>No</u> Are you related to or affiliated with the owners of the company or any of the employees? If yes, you are not eligible to complete this form. <u>STOP!!!</u>
- 2. If this is a new company, or you are giving a reference for an employee of a company, list the individual you are verifying work experience for:______
- 3. _____ To your personal knowledge, how long has the company or individual been performing the type of work listed in this reference?
- 4. List the type of work this company or individual has completed of which you have firsthand knowledge. Please state if the work is New Construction, Addition to Existing Structure, Etc. (be specific)
- 5. List specific projects this company or individual has completed of which you have firsthand knowledge. Please state if the work is New Construction, Addition to Existing Structure, Etc. Please be specific including the name of the project(s), dollar amount of the project(s), square feet of the project(s), and approximate date of the project(s).
- 6. Yes ____ No ____ Are you aware of any project that this company or individual has failed to complete? If yes, explain.
- 7. In your own words describe this company or individual's overall performance and ability to meet the customers' needs.
- 8. Yes ____ No ____ Would you recommend this company or individual to be a licensed contractor? If no, please explain.
- 9. Yes <u>No</u> Are you aware of any incidences where this company or individual has failed to pay for materials, failed to pay employees or subcontractors? If yes, please provide details.

By signing this form, I swear or affirm under oath that the foregoing reference information, including any attachments, is/are true and correct.

Name & Address of Person giving this reference: (Print)

Signature_____

Date ____

Phone No.

APPLICANT INFORMATION

Note: For the following questions 1-17, You/Your means, this organization, any officer, the qualifier of this company, you, or anyone who owns 10% or more of the entity.

Yes	No	1.	Have you ever had a contractor license or been associated with a contractor license in this state or any other state? (See definition of you above) If yes, attach separately a list of those that apply.
Yes	No	2.	Do you knowingly employ any individual(s), or hire workers as independent contractors, who do not have legal authority to work in the United States of America? (See definition of you above)
Yes	No	3.	Are you legally authorized to work in the United States of America? (See definition of you above)
Yes	No	4.	Do you understand that the failure to comply with the Federal law on the hiring, as employees or as subcontractors of workers without legal authority to work in the United States of America can lead to the revocation of the contractor license in the State of Arkansas? (See definition of you above)
Yes	No	5.	Does this applicant have one or more employees?
Yes	No	6.	Does the applicant have Workers Compensation Insurance?
			ig yes to any of the following questions <u>will NOT automatically disqualify</u> contractor license.
Yes	No	7.	Have you, or any construction related entity in which you were an investor, partner, officer, ever failed to complete a project awarded to you? If yes, attach separately a statement of circumstance, the name of the individual,

- Yes____ No____ 8. Have you filed bankruptcy or were you a part of any other organization that has filed bankruptcy within the last ten (10) years? (See definition of you above) If yes, attach a written explanation as to why bankruptcy had to be filed, along with a copy of the document prepared by your attorney listing the creditors that shows the amounts owed to each creditor and a copy of the bankruptcy discharge.
- Yes____ No____ 9. Have you ever pleaded guilty, no contest, nolo contendere, been convicted, found guilty, or been sentenced for any felony or misdemeanor, other than traffic violations? (See definition of you above) If yes, complete the Criminal Background Information form (page 12) for each offense.
- Yes No 10. Are you required to register on the sex offender registry in this state or any other state? (See definition of you above) If yes, please attach separately a written explanation as to what occurred and when this occurred.
- Yes____ No____ 11. Do you or any construction related entity in which you own 10% or more, have any outstanding liens, judgments, or pending litigation? (See definition of you above) If yes, attach separately details and an explanation.
- Yes No 12. Have you ever had a license revoked or suspended, been penalized or disciplined, by the Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board, the Arkansas Residential Committee, or any other state? (See definition of you above) If yes, attach separately details and an explanation.

**ONLY COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING IF APPLYING AS A <u>SOLE PROPRIETORSHIP</u>...Answer questions 13-17 **

- Yes No 13. Are you on Active Duty in the United States Military?
- Yes____ No____ 14. Is your spouse on Active Duty in the United States Military?

other organization, and reason for failure.

- Yes No 15. Are you a former member of the United States Military who has NOT been dishonorably discharged?
- Yes No 16. Is your spouse a former member of the United States Military who has NOT been dishonorably discharged?
- Yes____ No____ 17. If you answered yes to questions 13, 14, 15, or 16, do you hold a current state contractor license (not a registration) issued by another state? If yes, provide a copy of your current contractor license issued by another State. If yes, you do not have to take the Arkansas Business and Law exam and you do not have to submit reference forms (pages 8, 9 and 10 of this application) to obtain a license with same classification(s) as you have in that other State.

Criminal Background Information

State of Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board

IN CASES OF MULTIPLE OFFENSES, MAKE A COPY OF THIS FORM TO SHOW INFORMATION FOR EACH OFFENSE....

Offender's legal name:
Offender's SSN:
The crime in question:
The date of the conviction:
The jurisdiction (State, County, and City):
The sentence:
If you were incarcerated, the date of your release:
If you were placed on probation or parole, the date of release from probation or parole:
Has the offense been sealed by the Court, pardoned, or expunged? If yes, which one?
Written explanation as to what occurred:

<u>Corporation, LLC, Partnership, LP, LLP,</u> or Sole Proprietorship Data

***If you are applying as an individual/sole proprietor, you may qualify for an initial fee waiver under the "<u>Workforce Expansion Act of 2021</u>". To see if you qualify visit our website at <u>www.arkansas.gov/clb</u>. Click on the Workforce Expansion Act of 2021 link to see the list of waiver requirements and waiver form. If you do qualify, please complete the form and return it with your completed application packet.

Date the Company registered with the Arkansas Secretary of State's office (501-682-3409):____

Please list legal name and SSN of the following:

President	SSN	
Vice-President	SSN	
Secretary	SSN	
Treasurer	SSN	

ALL: Please list the legal name and SSN for ANYONE who owns 10% or more interest in the entity requesting a license. If it is an entity that owns 10% or more interest in the entity requesting a license, then remit those entities Federal ID#/EIN.

Name	SSN
Name	SSN

AFFIDAVIT

I, (Name of	Owner/Officer/Member/F	Partner/Sole Proprietor)	, being duly sworn/affirmed, state under oath:
That I am		of	:
	(Position held)		(Company Name, if Applicable)
		•	atements contained within this application, including

attachments are true and correct; Further, that I am familiar with the books and records of the above mentioned company showing its financial condition; that the financial statement(s) and any accompanying financial data attached hereto (or submitted separately) are taken from the books and records of said company and form a true and accurate statement of the financial condition of said company as of the date shown; Further, that the foregoing statements of experience and financial condition are submitted to the Contractors Licensing Board or the Residential Contractors Committee for the express purpose of inducing the Board or Committee to license the applicant as a contractor in the State of Arkansas, and that any depository, vendor or state agency is hereby authorized to supply such Board or Committee with any information necessary to verify these statements. Any agency of the State of Arkansas is authorized to release to the Contractors Licensing Board, or its representative, or the Residential Building Contractors Committee, or its representative, any information necessary to show proper compliance with A.C.A § 17-25-101 et seq., or A.C.A. § 17-25-501 et seq., including the obtaining and reviewing of a criminal background check. Further, that with respect to any commercial contract work in the State of Arkansas in the amount of \$50,000.00 or more, including but not limited to labor and materials, the applicant is not now a party on any contract for such work, does not have any outstanding work or any bid for such work, will not bid, contract or perform any such work until such time as the applicant is approved and a license has been issued. Any exceptions to this affidavit are attached hereto.

⁽Signature of Owner/Officer/Member/Partner/Sole Proprietor)

Instructions for Arkansas' \$10,000 SURETY Bond

All **<u>Commercial Contractors and Registered Subcontractors</u> are required to have this bond filed with the Board to have a valid license.**

AGENTS:

Bond must have **Principal's Company Name** and **EIN on the bond**, **exactly** as applying for license.

Only an Arkansas Resident or an Arkansas Non-Resident agency, agent, broker, or producer that is currently licensed by the Arkansas Insurance Department can execute this surety bond.

We cannot accept a License and Permit Bond.

IF issued by Direct Underwriter:

The bond may be executed solely by the Surety company. <u>An underwriter (employee) that **works**</u> <u>directly for the Surety need only sign the bottom line and indicate that you're a direct</u> <u>underwriter</u>.

Continuation Certificates are not required, as our bonds are continuous until cancelled.

CONTRACTORS:

Principal Company Name and **EIN must appear on the bond**, **exactly** as applying for the license. This name is how all work and bids are to be performed in Arkansas. (Any other name could constitute a possible violation.)

See that the bond is filed with the Board as directed at the bottom of the bond form, for processing. A license is not valid without this bond in place with the Board.

Bond and the Power of Attorney may be mailed, faxed, or emailed to the Board for processing: contractors.licensing.board@arkansas.gov fax (501-372-2247) Contractors Licensing Board, 4100 Richards Road, North Little Rock, AR, 72117

For questions regarding this bond, contact our office at 501-372-4661 or <u>contractors.licensing.board@arkansas.gov</u>



\$10,000 Surety Bond (Required by A.C.A. § 17-25-401)

Only an Arkansas Resident or an Arkansas Non-Resident insurance agency, agent, broker, producer, or surety (as a direct underwriter) that is currently licensed by the Arkansas Insurance Department can execute this surety bond.

Effective Date_

Bond Number_

STATE OF ARKANSAS

WHEREAS, under the terms of A.C.A. § 17-25-401, et. seq., every contractor described therein must file with the Contractors Licensing Board a corporate surety bond or cash bond to secure compliance with A.C.A § 17-25-401, et. seq.

WHEREAS, every such contractor is required to comply with all the terms of said Code, and all rules and regulations promulgated by the Contractors Licensing Board pursuant to the authority of said Code, in the performance of contracts in the State of Arkansas:

NOW, therefore, we, the undersigned, as Principal and Surety (below), are held firmly bound to the State of Arkansas in the <u>Sum of Ten Thousand Dollars (\$10,000</u>) for payment of which we bind ourselves, our heirs, assigns, executors and administrators, jointly and severally, conditioned that if the undersigned principal shall promptly pay any amount of money due as provided in A.C.A. § 17-25-401, et. seq., then this obligation shall be null and void; otherwise, it shall be in full force and effect.

The Surety reserves, however, the right to cancel the above bond on the giving of sixty (60) days written notice to the Principal and to the State of Arkansas (Contractors Licensing Board).

Principal's Company Name and EIN (as applying for license) Business Address & Phone#

Surety's Name

Address and Phone#

Agents: Arkansas Insurance License must be attached along with Power of Attorney

Insurance Company Name or Agent (Exactly as it appears on the AR Insurance License)

Mailing Address & Phone#

Signature of Agent/Broker/Producer

Printed Name

Power of Attorney Signature (if different than above) or IF Direct Underwriter - Surety Employee Signature

Contractor: Bond may be mailed, faxed, or emailed to the Board for processing: contractors.licensing.board@arkansas.gov fax (501-372-2247) Contractors Licensing Board, 4100 Richards Road, North Little Rock, AR, 72117

Revised 1/2025

Arkansas Business & Law Test (Instructions)

The test is given by an independent testing company (P.S.I). If you have questions about the test or need more information beyond what is furnished here please call them at 855-257-1620.

Examination Fee:

Examination fees are not refundable or transferable

Registration Instructions:

By Phone: Payment methods: Schedule the following:

P.S.I. at 1-855-257-1620 VISA, Mastercard, American Express or Discover *Arkansas Contractor Business and Law Exam*

\$84.00

https://test-takers.psiexams.com/arconst

Registering Online: Follow these instructions:

- 1. Go to the above website.
- 2. Click on Tests
- 3. You will be asked to select the examination.
 - a. Select the following: _AR Business and Law Examination (Onsite -Test Center)
 - b. Click on Login/Register
 - c. Click on Create Account if you need to register, otherwise sign in if you are already registered.
 - d. After registered, click on Login.
 - **Make sure when registering you use the EXACT information you will have on your photo ID the day of taking your test.
 - e. Click on Continue Booking
 - f. Enter all required information and click NEXT
 - g. Enter information to find your nearest test center and click Find
 - h. Click on the testing facility you wish to test at
 - i. Click Date & time you wish to test and click NEXT
 - j. Enter payment information and click continue
- 3. Testing is held Monday Saturday at most sites. Hours are determined at each site.
- 4. The test is open book, multiple choice, and 50 questions, with a 2-hour time limit.
- 5. You can order the book by calling the publisher directly at (623) 587-9519.
 - Order the following:

Arkansas Contractors Guide to Business, Law and Project Management

- 6. You may highlight, underline, annotate, and or tab with permanent tabs prior to the exam session.
- However, reference material may not be written in during the exam session.
- 7. Permanent tabs are permitted.
 - (Permanent tabs are defined as tabs that would tear the page if removed)
- 8. Temporary tabs are NOT permitted.

(Temporary tabs are defined as post-it notes or other tabs that may be removed without tearing the page)

9. Applicants with disabilities or those who would otherwise have difficulty taking the examination should request for alternative arrangements by calling P.S.I at 855-257-1620.

10. On the day of your examination, you must arrive at the P.S.I. Center 30 minutes before your scheduled appointment to complete the admission procedures required before your test begins. You must bring the following with you: One official government issued photo identification such as a driver's license, passport, etc., and your Contractors Guide to Business, Law and Project Management, Arkansas Edition.

PLEASE BE ADVISED:

- a) You will only be tested from the Contractors Guide to Business, Law and Project Management, Arkansas Edition.
- b) Verify your exam before you take the test to make sure it is the _AR Business and Law Examination (Onsite -Test Center)
- c) P.S.I will give you your results immediately. You can also have P.S.I. send the results directly to you. It is your responsible to get the passing test score to our office by fax 501-372-2247 or regular mail. If you request your results be sent to our offices it could take several weeks to get to us, which could postpone the approval and release of your license.

Revised 1/2025 17.



NASCLACONTRACTORS GUIDE TO BUSINESS, LAW AND PROJECT MANAGEMENT, ARKANSAS EDITION ORDER FORM

To order a copy of the **NASCLA Contractors Guide to Business, Law and Project Management, Arkansas Edition, Tabs Bundle Pak**, you can visit the NASCLA website bookstore at www.nascla.org. You can also order by mailing a copy of this order form to the address below with credit card information.

NASCLA 23309 N. 17th Drive, Suite 110 Phoenix, Arizona 85027 Phone (623) 587-9354 Fax (623) 587-9625 or Online @ <u>www.nascla.org</u>

The **NASCLA Contractors Guide to Business, Law and Project Management, Tabs Bundle Pak** offers our permanent reference tabs that will help you navigate quickly through this publication. Please note that these tabs are self-adhesive and must be added at least one day prior for sufficient adhesive power.

SHIP TO:	
Name	
Company	
Mailing Address	
City State Zip	
Telephone () Fax ()	
Email Address	
METHOD OF PAYMENT (Due to possible added sales tax, checks are not accepted):	
Card Number Exp. Date / CVC	
Name on Card Signature	
PLEASE SEND: Copy(ies) of the NASCLA Contractors Guide to Business, Law and Project Management, Arkansas Edition Tabs Bundle Pak @ \$87.99 Copy(ies) of the NASCLA Contractors Guide to Business,	\$
Law and Project Management, Arkansas Edition (book only) @ \$78.00	\$
SHIPPING & HANDLING: \$ 15.95 USPS for one book (\$6.00 for each additional book)	\$
SALES TAX: Additional State Sales Tax Rates could apply.	TOTAL \$